My Blog

The Minnesota ​Territorial Pioneers

Established May 11, 1897-Incorporated1897

Previous Recipients

The Minnesotan of the Year in the Arts is recognized at the Annual Membership Meeting in May for an outstanding contribution in the fields of Painting, Sculpture, Writing, Music, Theater, Arts Administration or Arts Philanthropy.  The recipient must have made a lasting contribution nationally or internationally in his or her field.  The ‘arts philanthropy’ category includes those who are not necessarily artists, but have made a significant contribution to the arts as a volunteer, philanthropist, or visionary. The first year for the award was 1981.

1981 Clement Haupers   Artist, painter
1982 Lloyd Herfendahl   Artist, Painter
1983 Frederick Manfred   Author, novelist
1984 Dominick Argento   Musician, composer
1985 Don Stoltz   Arts and theater director
1986 Russell Fridley   History and arts administrator
1987 Paul Granlund   Artist, sculptor
1988 David Maass   Artist, wildlife artist
1989 Richard Lack   Artist, painter
1990 Ronald Hubbs   Music and history philanthropist
1991 Nina Archibal   History and arts administrator
1992 Jon Hassler   Author, novelist
1993 Michael Barone   Musicologist, host Pipe Dreams
1994 Robert Bly   Author, poet
1995 Steve Thayer   Author
1996 Stephen Paulus   Composer
1998 Dr. John Arnold   Author
2000 Chris Matteson   Painter
2003 Anita Buck   Historian, author
2005 Hubert “Skip” Humphrey
2006 Hal Cropp   Executive director, Commonweal Theater
2007 Warren Nelson   Artistic Director of the Lake Superior Big Top Chautauqua
2008 Heid, Lise and Louise Erdich   Ojibwe Storytellers
2011 Annette Atkins   Author
2012 Steve Trimble   Author, educator, community leader
2014 Larry Millett   Author, historian, architectural critic

Established May 11, 1897 – Incorporated 1924

The Minnesota

​Territorial Pioneers