My Blog

The Minnesota ​Territorial Pioneers

Established May 11, 1897-Incorporated1897

Minnesotan of the Year Award

Established May 11, 1897 – Incorporated 1924

Larry Millett joined the St Paul Pioneer Press as a reporter in 1972.  After studying architectural history and theory at the University of Michigan as a Knight Fellow he became the paper’s architectural critic.  He also helped write the clues for the St. Paul Winter Carnival Medallion Hunt for several years.  He retired from the Pioneer Press in 2002.

Larry has written a number of books recounting the history of Minnesota and architectural guides to many neighborhoods in the Twin Cities.   His Minnesota Mysteries series is set at the turn of the 20th Century, and brings famed investigator Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson across the pond to work with St Paul saloonkeeper Shadwell Rafferty.

The Minnesota

​Territorial Pioneers

The Minnesotan of the Year in the Arts is recognized at the Annual Membership Meeting in May for an outstanding contribution in the fields of Painting, Sculpture, Writing, Music, Theater, Arts Administration or Arts Philanthropy.  The recipient must have made a lasting contribution nationally or internationally in his or her field.  The ‘arts philanthropy’ category includes those who are not necessarily artists, but have made a significant contribution to the arts as a volunteer, philanthropist, or visionary.